top of page
  • Writer's pictureGo Ask Debbie

Outlook Tip: Accidentally Sending Email Messages

Updated: Jan 13, 2021


Roman, of Virginia, says, "I often send messages in Outlook before I am ready to send. I must be hitting a key on accident. Is there a way of preventing this?"


It's easy to accidentally send a message if you hit the wrong key combination. Ctrl+Enter and Alt+S will both send messages. I do it quite often myself.


The first time you press Ctrl+Enter while composing a message, Outlook will ask if you want to turn it on.


To disable Ctrl+Enter, follow these steps.


Click "File" "Options" and select the "Mail" menu.


Scroll to the Send Messages section.


Check or uncheck the "CTRL + ENTER sends a message" option.



Now, if you accidentally press Ctrl+Enter, you will NOT send your open message.


NOTE: In Outlook 2007, the option is located in Tools, Options, Email Options, and then Advanced E-mail options.

It really is that simple! I love it when Outlook allows you to change settings like this that are personalized to how you use the keyboard and other features.


 

If you're interested in learning how to use Outlook for Time & Task Management, download my FREE 65 Ways to Use MS Office to be More Productive! eBook.

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page