top of page
  • Writer's pictureGo Ask Debbie

How do I prioritize what's on my calendar?

Updated: Oct 3, 2020


“The key is not to prioritize what’s on your schedule, but to schedule your priorities.”

Stephen Covey


I've been talking a lot lately about time management and reaching your goals. Many co-workers keep talking about managing their schedule, but really it's about managing your priorities.


Each time I feel like my calendar gets out of control, I take a step back and ask myself, "What are my priorities?" Then I look at my calendar and I either delegate tasks and projects to others where possible, or I totally remove myself from them. And, yes, there is a difference. If you delegate, you are still keeping responsibility, but not doing the actual work.



To ensure time doesn't get the best of you, you need to regularly remember the decision making matrix (shown above and called many different things). You are the only one who can make best use of your time. If you let others take your time, you will never reach your own goals. Doing this will truly help you reach your goals, and ultimately, your happiness.


 

To learn these and other time management tasks, please check out my eBook "Time Management and Goals."



0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page